Sval Torv //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Kolbotn Kirke
Recording date: 
Saturday, January 1, 2011
Bernt and the staff at Kolbotn kirke, Sofa, Kjell, Rutger, Jim and Helge for helping us to make this record.
Mastering technician: 
Helge Sten
Mixing technician: 
Recording technician: 
  • 1. Nærmest Null (06:57)
  • 2. Våren Har Aldri Begynt Så Bra (05:05)
  • 3. Høyre, Venstre (07:44)
  • 4. Vekselsvev (06:45)
  • 5. Langt Inn I Krypdyrhjernen (04:05)
  • 6. Høyre, Venstre? (05:36)
  • 7. Utpust (05:18)
  • 8. Evig Din (08:29)
  • 9. Utligning (05:03)

This is the first vinyl release in the 12 years history of SOFA. And what a release to celebrate our first vinyl! Streifenjunko has since 2005 played more than 100 concerts all over the world, and has developed a highly unique concept with just a trumpet and a tenor saxophone. They released their deubut album “No longer burning” on SOFA in 2009 to critical acclaim. Peter Margasak in Chicago Reader wrote: “one of the most potent and original spins on free improvisation I’ve heard in years”.

“Sval Torv” consists of 9 pieces by Lønning and Reinertsen, recorded and mixed by the musicians themselves, and mastered by Helge Sten. The music is accompanied by really great art work by norwegian video artist Kjell Bjørgeengen, design by Rutger Zuydervelt and liner notes by Jim Denley.

"Streifenjunko’s utopia is the latest mutation in the remarkable evolution of collectively authored music, a model which is cogent for making the new dialects and creoles of today’s and tomorrow’s musics, (and not just musics)." (Jim Denley)