Body //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording location: 
Music Feeds
Recording date: 
Monday, February 6, 2017
Magda Mayas, Regina Greene, Jordan Verzar, Lee Paterson, Ilan Volkov, Ashley Capps, Guy Morley, Sharif Sehnaoui, Raed Yassin, Mazen Kerbaj
Artwork design: 
Tim Kliendienst/Tony Buck/Chris Abrahams
Mastering engineer: 
Doug Henderson
Recording engineer: 
Tim Whitten
Recording engineer: 
Tim Whitten
  • 1. The Necks - Body (56:40)

Lloyd Swanton - Bass
Chris Abrahams - Piano
Tony Buck - Drums

Like so many of their albums, The Necks' twentieth release consists of a single track, but this one is distinguished by its episodic nature.

Its near-one hour running time is divided into four linked but distinct sections, each one a marked contrast to its neighbours.

Their most relentlessly driving release since Hanging Gardens, Body sees richly-textured input from Chris Abrahams on piano, organ and keyboards, Tony Buck on drums, percussion and guitar, and Lloyd Swanton on acoustic bass. Recording and mixing is by Tim Whitten, who has captured and realised The Necks' sonic vision on their last twelve albums.

"some of the most textural, ambitious and forward-thinking music around, jazz or otherwise"

"A distillation of ambient, minimalism and post-rock that enwraps the listening mind, teasing it with oh-so-slight curves in the road it’s traversing with a steady hand, with an occasional sharp turn to throw listeners off balance. You can clearly see the scenery around you but you can never tell what’s up ahead."
-Something Else!