Stroomtoon //

Album label: 
Release date: 
Recording date: 
Thursday, March 1, 2012
Mastering engineer: 
Giuseppe Ielasi
Rutger Zuydervelt
  • 1. Stroomtoon Eén (18:27)
  • 2. Stroomtoon Twee (03:15)
  • 3. Stroomtoon Drie (03:25)
  • 4. Stroomtoon Vier (05:58)
  • 5. Stroomtoon Vijf (04:46)

Stroomtoon can be translated as ‘the sound of electricity’. The album was constructed with hours of material I recorded while experimenting with a new live setup, using an analogue tone generator and some looper pedals. The pure sines of the generator and the static and crackling sounds of that old and dusty machine gave me a nice myriad of sounds to work with, creating endless loops and textures. The original idea was to use parts of these recordings in unedited form, but playing around with these soundfiles, the end result became much more layered and detailed, while still keeping the raw energy of the original material intact.